Summer of Porches

I’ve been on hiatus, enjoying my summer of porches. I’ve always sort of fantasized about sitting in an oversized rocker on a wide front porch with large white columns in the foreground, sipping mint juleps. I may even go so far as to envision myself wearing a southern dress and floppy sun hat. What, am I the only one who has a romanticized Gone with the Wind view of the porch? My summer of porches slightly pales in comparison of this grandiose view, but the action is far better.

I lucked out because my transplant was timed perfectly to enjoy the majestic views of the mountain and summer weather of the Berkshires (minus the rainy days and odd forty degree mornings). So the two out of seven days are phenomenal. All joking aside having my transplant in the spring allows me the opportunity to be out in the world or at least on a few porches to be exact, otherwise I would be trapped inside. I have frequented a number of fabulous porches and a makeshift patio of sorts (mine). I spend my days under the canopy photographing my birds, reading books for pleasure and work, making my way through my magazine subscriptions of which I have more than I should admit to, and visiting with friends. Just last weekend my friend Tristanne and I set up shop out there to work on wedding plans, which is both fun and completely overwhelming. Thank god I have two years to plan appropriately. I have to admit I may be a Pintrest addict who has forty wedding dresses pinned to their board and an equal number of ideas that may or may not suit our venue. By the time my planning period is over, I will definitely need an intervention of sorts. Regardless I will enjoy another month (hopefully more) of hanging out on my patio.

I also frequented a fabulous multi level porch at my friend Karen’s where we have party on the porch once (sometimes) more during the summer and fall. It has been a tradition for a number of years now and I’m glad that despite my inability to really be out in the world, I can still do things like this. I was excited to take the long way and walk up the outside steps to the second tiered deck, lined with a fun potted garden and hanging bird feeders that have frequent visitors. That wasn’t even the best part, the best part was hearing Donna’s booming voice and air hugs from everyone, except Karen who shares my hugging philosophy. I’m lucky to have these amazing women in my life, who are my coworkers and friends. I talk to Karen everyday, which makes planning party on the porches even more fun. And on those porch days we laugh uncontrollably (especially when trying to get a group selfie), eat well, and share our latest adventures. It was nice to be with my people, especially since I will miss the next six months of breakfasts and lunches while they are back at work and I am still at home.

19731991_1637087986310218_4099317205339539408_n

I also had the opportunity to frequent a new porch. Steph and her husband just redid their front porch in a beautiful reddish stain with black flooring and spindles. They really did a great job, adding lattice work and solar accents. They also have fabulous wooden rockers where you can relax and chat. I haven’t had a ton of time to spend at their still new to me home, no like their old one that used to have a back deck. I was sad that I would have to miss our annual trip to lake where much of the time is spent on the camper patio doing crosswords, playing board games, and eating Ruffle chips and French onion dips. It was actually one of the things I was most disappointed about having to skip. It’s our time to catch up without work, to read young adult fiction simultaneously like we have our own secret book club, and just really catch up.  So now we have to do that from the comfort of our porches/patios.

Friday marked my day 100, which is a really big deal in the transplant world. It means that I made it through the first three months unscathed, no acute gvh, infections, or other complications. It doesn’t mean those things can’t occur it just means that they may be less likely in some cases and or less severe in others. That doesn’t mean I’m out of the woods yet, as all of my medical team likes to remind me. Things can definitely go awry but they feel confident that I’m on the right track. I get to taper off the anti-rejection meds which might stir up some gvh but they prepare for that. My appointments are spaced out to biweekly locally and monthly in Boston. I can order take out from reputable places, which is very exciting. I love knowing that there is an option not to cook my own meals. I’m planning on waiting though till our anniversary dinner in a week and a half. Aside from that things remain the same, no public places. So I will continue to enjoy my summer of porches!

20423934_10211886730782541_7517518896685474696_o

7 thoughts on “Summer of Porches”

  1. Be sure to check out = Saveoncrafts.com for wedding craft ideas. Enjoy all the pre wedding planning. Before you know it, you will be wearing one of those white dresses you have “pinned” on Pinterest. Enjoy your summer of porches.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment