The “Meet Cute”

Pop culture and Wikipedia defines a “Meet-Cute”  as a scene in film, television, etc. in which a future romantic couple meets for the first time in a way that is considered adorable, entertaining, or amusing.This type of scene is a staple of romantic comedies, commonly involving contrived, unusual, or comic circumstances. The technique creates an artificial situation to bring together characters in a theoretically entertaining manner. Frequently the meet-cute leads to a humorous clash of personalities or beliefs, embarrassing situations, or comical misunderstandings that further drive the plot (Wikipedia).

In my mind my meet-cute with a doctor was an accidental meeting after a generic appointment where we instantaneously had chemistry as a result of our witty banter and we rode off into the sunset on a gurney… or something like that. It certainly didn’t involve scheduling appointments with multiple oncologists and rounding up a team of doctors who prescribe treatments and essentially dictate my life over the course of months and maybe even years. As a confirmed commitment phobe, it all seemed a little fast. I was essentially entering a long term relationship after an initial meet (not so) cute. Where was the courtship and jewelry? Instead I got new patient information packets to fill out and a handy card allowing me access to my information and let’s not forget the hospital bracelets signifying my new relationship status. They really wanted everyone to know we were committed too, I got a new bracelet at every single appointment. Now how could I say no to that?

I have to admit that I was skeptical of finding an oncologist that would be best suited for me, but I was very fortunate and found two. Now I don’t want you to think I intended to or willingly entered into a poly-amorous relationship or anything, it just so happened that my first and second opinion oncologists were willing to work together to help me fight my Stage II (possibly bulky) Classical Hodgkins Lymphoma (Nodular Sclerosis). One was a long distance relationship with one of the best cancer centers in the US and the other had easier access being much closer to home. As long as they are in 100% agreement so am I. I leave the majority of the decisions up to them. In a lot of ways there is a lot less stress when you never have to choose where to go for dinner or what movie to go see or in this case when my appointments are and what treatment I will be receiving.

So while I didn’t quite get my Hollywood meet cute I got a medical meet cute that works for me. My close to home oncologist – Dr. Z – is in fact perfect for me or at least that is what I tell people when they ask what I think of him. Not only is he a phenomenal doctor, ridiculously knowledgeable, compassionate, and empathetic he is also sarcastic and humorous. Qualities that I cannot live without, especially if we are committed to seeing each other for a minimum of five years while we sort out this whole cancer thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

